Meyer Shank Racing Acura team wins legendary endurance race on its 60th anniversary

To celebrate six decades of competition at Daytona International Speedway, the race paid tribute to former drivers and owners – Mario Andretti, Scott Pruett, Bobby Rahal, Hurley Haywood, Jack Roush and Wayne Taylor, who also took on the coveted role of Grand Marshal. Five-time winner of the Rolex 24 at Daytona, Scott Pruett says: “When you look at the people, manufacturers and brands involved at Daytona, there is no better place to race. I love the sunsets and the aurora, the changing conditions, and definitely when you first get to Victory Lane it’s an amazing feeling. All drivers across the generations come to the circuit for the chance to wear the coveted Rolex Daytona on their wrist, there is nothing more special. The unique history of the Rolex 24 goes back 60 years – and it was amazing to celebrate this milestone this weekend – the competition has evolved a lot over the decades, and it has a very exciting future.

The next big thing to watch when it comes to endurance events in the United States and around the world is the 2022 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, along with the 2022 FIA World Endurance Championship and of course the most famous of all, the 90th outing of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, to be held later in mid-2022. As for the 24 Hours of Daytona, next year we will see the start of a new era, with the return of the Grand Touring Prototype name ( GTP) and the introduction of a new class – the Le Mans Daytona (LMDh) hybrid racing cars.

While we’re on the subject of endurance races, click here to read more about the one we did with our homegrown Mahindra XUV700!

Comments are closed.